Archived workspaces

Introduction

Over time, a workspace created in a Microsoft 365 environment might fall out of use, or you might want to archive or delete a workspace at the end of a project. 

For teams:

When you archive a team, all activity for that team ceases. However, you can still add or remove members and update roles, and you can still view all the team activity in standard and private channels, files, and chats. Archiving a team also archives the team's private channels and associated site collections. When the user that acts is the owner of the team, it's also possible to update the team associated SharePoint site to read only.

 

For SharePoint sites:

When you archive a SharePoint site, the site is updated to be in "read-only" mode. Users can still be added or removed

Powell Teams support Microsoft Teams' "Archive" feature to avoid having unnecessary or inactive teams.  

 
 

Archive a workspace

Follow these steps to archive a workspace from the workspace page or any Powell Teams report: 

  1. Go to the "Workspace" page or any report page in the administration menu,
  2. Select a team or a SharePoint site and click on the 3 dots button 
  3. Click on archive

Capture d'écran 2024-01-12 163340.png

The archive option is also visible directly when editing a team or a SharePoint site.

Complinace_6.png

 

Important note: there is a delay after the archive action, and you need to wait a few minutes before seeing it with the “archived” status. 

 

Restore a workspace

Follow these steps to restore a workspace: 

  1. Go to the "Workspace" page or any report page in the administration menu,
  2. Select an archived team or a SharePoint site and click on the 3 dots button 
  3. Click on "restore"

Capture d'écran 2024-01-12 163557.png

 

As for the archive option, the restore button is also visible when editing a SharePoint site or a team.

 

Massive archive

You can archive massively your workspaces by following these steps :

  1. Go to the "Workspace" page or any report page in the administration menu,
  2. Click on the "Bulk actions" button to open the drop-down.
  3. Select and click on "Archive".
  4. You can now select the workspaces you want to be archived by ticking the boxes displayed on the just left of the team name column.
  5. Then click on the next and on the archive button to finish the massive archive action.

Capture d'écran 2024-01-12 163754.png

Capture d'écran 2024-01-12 163820.png

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful